Spring

Spring

Spring!  What’s so special about spring? Well, just about everything although fall is still my favorite season. I think, though the spring brings hope and renewal. We associate it with baby lambs and chicks. Even the Bible weighs in on the coming of spring. “For lo, the winter is past…the flowers appear on the earth, the time of singing has come, and the voice of the turtledove is heard in our land.” [Song of Solomon 2:12] I wouldn’t know a turtledove if I heard one, but I do know the sight of a robin-red-breast is the most welcome sign to me!

The oldie but goodie: Spring has sprung the grass has riz. I wonder where the birdies is?”  Around here the grass is still buried under more than a foot of snow, but we have the hope that it will be visible soon. The birds are holding off on their return, but a great gray owl was spotted. Every once in a while a squirrel goes running around the yard to find a bare spot, often under a tree,  where he has hopefully hidden a nut.  And a mother bear and her three cubs are scouting back yards and driveways in search of food. We are cautioned to remove bird feeders and cover trash that might contain food. But college kids are less concerned about that and so attract the bears who find this a generous food supply. I thought I smelled a skunk, another sign of spring, but then I read in the paper that it is probably the smell of the male fox’s urine, used to mark its territory. 

As a kid, spring meant jumping  rope and playing hopscotch. Not sure kids even do that anymore. There’s always baseball, softball, golf, and tennis and the many running by my window will soon be dressed in t-shirts and shorts rather than hats and layers. For me I declare it is spring  when I can  throw open the windows [funny term that] or go outside without a coat or jacket!

    Dorothy C. Judd © 2017

Next post: March 27th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring

  1. Lauren says:

    I truly love all the seasons as each one brings something new and different. I do think I could easily trade February or March for an extra September or October though. Still feels like winter in Boston too but know Spring is just around the corner xoxo

Leave a Reply

