Snow-pocalypse

Big snow on the way-maybe. I say maybe because around here the forecast hasn’t been accurate in forever. And as for amounts, it’s like you are on a tilt board tipping from one side of the map line to the other.  Hard to tell where you are in all of this.

It always amuses me how grocery stores become crowded with people buying bread and milk: people who haven’t had a drop of milk in years and wouldn’t eat a slice of bread if you held a gun to their heads.  But toilet paper, shouldn’t that be on the essentials list?  My own list has always been potato chips -maybe some dip – and wine and books, always books.

When I had a fourth grade class I must have confined in them that my worst fear was that I would be marooned in a classroom with no food. I didn’t think chalk would be too tasty. So the next time a storm was predicted one boy brought in two dozen donuts. “Here,” he said. “At least we’ll have donuts.”

Now that I live in an apartment, I no longer see dollar signs when the plow pulls into the driveway. But I am on the first floor, so if we really have 20 inches, the snow might be level with my windowsill! But the snow won’t fall in drifts all at once, just flake by flake, and each one is beautiful.   And besides, my mother used to say that if it snowed in March it wouldn’t stay on the ground that long!

Dorothy C. Judd.    (C) 2017

 

 

 

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Snow-pocalypse

  1. cynthia says:

    We are on the same wave length–potato chips, definitely dip, wine, and books. Bring on the snow!

Leave a Reply

