Adulting School

Adulting School

Adulting School. Ever hear of it? Neither did I until I read an article with that title. As a matter of fact when I read it quickly, I thought it said, “adultery school!” But, no, the Adulting School, in Portland Maine, proposes to teach millennials the skills they need to succeed in life but have missed along the way.

Don’t laugh.  The school offers lessons in showing up on time, simple budgeting,  making appointments, how to make a simple meal, and how to set the table. You could also learn how to  network, how to establish a budget, pay credit card bills, write a check, balance a checkbook, or learn  the necessity of an emergency fund.  Best of all, you could learn how to fold a contour sheet!

If I were designing the curriculum, I would add how to sew on a button,  how to iron or press an item of clothing, how to figure out the cost of an item the store is offering at a percent off, the amount of interest you’d be paying on a credit card purchase, how to write a thank-you note, and  how to write a note of condolence.

But as my high school math teacher was fond of saying, “It doesn’t take a mental giant to…” figure out all of the above. Make use of Google, a parent, a trusted other. Try using some common sense instead of paying for a school to learn how to be an adult.

Ironic isn’t it that as noted two weeks ago, children are being exposed to classics at age two but not learning how to manage the most basic skills needed to succeed at “adulting.”

Dorothy C. Judd    © 2017

Next post: February 13, 2017

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adulting School

  1. annromer says:

    Brilliant, Dorothy. Of course we used to learn practical things at home – I learned from my dad, my grandmother Betty, my art teacher Elsie Nelson, and our cleaning lady Annie Edwards. I have long pushed for life skills classes, in middle school when kids WANT to do grownup, independent things. I knew a school that had a special, one-semester elective for 6th grade boys. It was so popular, the waiting list was miles long!! It was called, “OH, BOY! BABIES!” Baby sitting, child care, responsibility, laundry, toys, safety, etc. Wow!

Leave a Reply

