Searching

Searching

Can’t think. Brain dumb. Inspiration won’t come. Bad ink. Bad pen. Best of luck amen.

That silly little piece was something we would write on a page in an autograph book in the early ‘50’s. But, honestly, it is how I have felt as I have tried to come up with my “word” for 2017. I was sure I would have it by now, but I am still busy selecting and rejecting.

Knowing that I wanted the word to reflect action in some way, I first tried “energy.” But as I tried to clarify, actually seeing it as two-pronged, both how to get and maintain energy and how to make wise choices in using energy, it all seemed too much like a treatise in a health magazine.

Then I made the mistake of looking back at my words for the past five years and realized I couldn’t even recall the word I chose for 2016. Duh! “Health”, and I had failed so miserably at any  proactive effort in that area it was embarrassing. I thought about repeating “Health” this year in the hope of doing a better job but that seemed doomed from the get-go.

“Enjoy” was my next choice. It would not be the vapid “enjoy” of wait-staff as they plunked down dinner, but something more like mindfulness. It would not be the “enjoy” of a major event, that’s easy,  but of the every-dayness of life.  The thought came to me as I was hurrying  through the  morning reading of “The Skimm”  which I really like. So why was I rushing through it as if it were a timed reading? And how about all the multi-tasking where instead of sitting and appreciating my breakfast or lunch  I am doing something else at the same time: makings lists, cleaning up, looking at the paper? When the cat sits in my lap, and I am patting him, that is the perfect time to relax and enjoy instead of looking at my iPad at the same time. And phone calls and friends; how about being totally present with them? I thought of “Stop and smell the roses”- the roses in my own backyard as it were.

So I’m not entirely committed to the word, but it will have to do for now.

Dorothy C. Judd   © 2017

Next post: January 16th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

