Santa’s List

Santa’s List

1946 : I was 8 and firmly believed in every aspect of Santa Claus. ”  ( We were much more innocent in those days!)  I was sure he was “making a list and checking it twice to find out who was naughty or nice.

I am embarrassed to admit that as my father characterized me I was a “street angel” but a “house devil.” It wasn’t so much that I did naughty things, but I was  impudent  and disrespectful, especially to my mother.  Practicing the piano was always a battle royal.

However, keeping Santa’s list in mind, along about the first of December, I tried to act like the model child. To this day I recall the effort that took, but it was all worth while when I woke up on Christmas morning and found the lavish array of gifts under the tree. Since I was an only child, the presents were not wrapped, just displayed in all their glory. I’m sure I got more than one doll, doll clothes, games,  a number of books, some dollhouse furniture , and a dress or two. As soon as I had checked out everything, I just fell apart, right back to my old ways. Maybe I was even worse because I had tried so hard for so long to behave.

By early evening, my mother said , “Dorothy, you know, on Christmas night Santa Claus makes the rounds to take back the toys from children who have been naughty that day.” Panic set in. I began crying as I hurriedly gathered together everything I could find and then took it into my bedroom and hid it all under the covers as I jumped into bed. I lay there for  a long time, feigning sleep but really listening intently for the sound of hooves on the roof. I might even have been hatching a plan to negotiate with Santa should he come down the chimney and  appear in my room.  Needless to say I was very relieved when I woke in the morning to find I still had all my loot, and maybe I tried a little harder to be a nice little girl – at least for a few days.

Dorothy C. Judd       ©  2016

Next post: Monday, December 12th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Santa’s List

  1. Lauren says:

    Love this story. You paint such a vivid picture and also your Dads use of street angel and house devil!!

Leave a Reply

