Eventually

Eventually

Eventually can be a soothing word, but more about that later.

This is not about the everyday “To Do” list which is more a reminder of things I intend to do that day or the next day.

I am embarrassed to say that the other day I listed a rather lengthy number of things that I didn’t feel like doing. Thus began the list entitled “Things I Have to Do That I Don’t Feel like Doing.”  My only comfort was that as I looked at the list closely, I realized that I would EVENTUALLY do each of those things. It wasn’t as if I were NEVER going to do them. I would need to have a deadline for each item,  even if self-imposed. So not that day or even the next, I EVENTUALLY crossed each item off the list.

On the other hand, I have a list of things I NEVER intend to do. That list began with a beautiful brass bed that I owned and in which I slept. Problem? The brass required all too frequent polishing, and this was a difficult task what with all the grooves and swirls. A few times a long-suffering friend helped me, but finally I declared , “I am NEVER going to polish that bed again.” By the way, I was greatly relieved when some years later I sold the bed to an antique dealer, tarnish and all.

 Dorothy C. Judd         (c) 2016

Next post, Monday, December 5th

 

 

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

