Streets

Streets

Inspired by the album entitled “Streets I Have Walked” by Harry Belafonte

The streets I remember walking first I go back to now whenever possible: the streets of Boston, I loved them all: Summer,Winter, Washington, Tremont, through the Common and the Garden, Newbury, Commonwealth, Dartmouth, Marlboro, back of the hill: Joy St, Mount Vernon, and Hancock where I lived until I was 3 and a half.

Then the move to Medford whose streets still appear in my dreams: Guild, Draper, Foss, Saunders, Fulton, the Fellsway, Forest Avenue, and Governors Avenue.

Moving on to Rochester, NY: South Goodman, Highland Avenue, and later South Livonia Rd. in South Livonia.

In Waukesha, Wisconsin i lived on Dopp Street and followed Motor Street to town, crossing over the Fox River. “I don’t see any foxes in that river,” commented my three-year-old looking over the bridge.

Arriving in East Orange, NJ, I lived on Renshaw Avenue, my kids played on Marcy and walked up Prospect Street to the candy store. They walked to school on Glendale, and we all spent many hour in Franklin School (Now the Whitney E. Houston Academy) on Dodd Street.

We moved to West Orange, and I always loved that our house was on Sunnyside road off Pleasant Valley Way. Jus saying that made me happy and continues to do so. My morning walk was along Pleasant Valley Way, down Eagle Rock, through an old cemetery and across Conforti.

Once in Hanover, NH, reservoir Rd became my home with walks all over town from Brook Hollow up Wheelock to Main Street with the stroller or my regular two miles on Lyme Road.

However, my favorite isn’t a street at all but the walk along the beach in Sea Isle City, New Jersey.

There are many others, too numerous to mention. What streets play a part in your history?

Dorothy C. Judd   (c) 2016

Next post: November 21st

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

