My Birthday

My Birthday

My birthday has always been a very special day to me. Why? I’ve started and deleted this post about a dozen time because the explanation sounded totally selfish. But then, maybe that’s why it is special: It is MY day, and I take pleasure in owning it. I have been known to say to random people in a store or on the street, “Today is my birthday,” expecting nothing more than a smile and best wishes.

It’s about family and friends: calls from them, cards and notes, being with them. It’s about remembering all we have shared over the years. It’s about being aware of how important they are to me. Those are the presents I treasure.

It’s about food: popovers for breakfast (usually), lobster at some point during the day, cheesecake or carrot cake, and champagne.

It’s about parties: planned, self-planned, surprise, spontaneous, a trip for two to Boston.

It’s about the time of year. Delightful weather: usually warm, but not hot. Sunny and breezy. School starting: a clean slate – or clean whiteboard today. Sharpened pencils, new pens, even in this day of computers. Carry-over from childhood: a new dress, but no longer new shoes.

It’s about thinking about my life, so along with that clean slate come  promises to self to do better;  resolutions made as on January 1, but sometimes lasting less than a day. Always a new beginning.

It’s about strolling down memory lane, taking  time to give special thanks for my health, for being alive to celebrate not my 39th birthday, but exactly double that.

Happy birthday to me!

Dorothy C. Judd  © 2016

Next post: Monday, September 12th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Birthday

  1. Brenda Jovenich says:

    Happy Birthday To you! I read your every post! Best regards, Brenda Jovenich (Elise & Lauren’s friend)

  2. cynthia says:

    Happy, happy birthday, Dorothy!!! Celebrate you all day long!

  3. annromer says:

    Perfect! I hope it was a wonderful day.

  4. Joy Jackson says:

    Fabulous!!!

Leave a Reply

