Dresses

Dresses

Dress-hunting season is officially open. I’ve started looking for a special dress to wear to a late-afternoon wedding in early October in Key Largo, Florida.  If I still lived in New Jersey this would be no big deal as I was within 20 minutes of every major store in the United States of America. Here in Hanover, NH, the opening of a Talbot’s to supplement nearby  KMart and Walmart was huge news.  Or I could drive  almost two hours to a mall or take the bus to Boston, more than 2 hours.

So yesterday I did what all women in this area do, I went online. I looked at hundreds of dresses, most of them black and above the knee, neither of which I wanted. I never had “pretty” knees, but after all my knee problems, they are truly ugly. Other dresses were hideous, inappropriate, or out of my price range. Every once in a while I found a likely  candidate only to find, when I clicked on it, it was only available in  very small sizes.

I did learn a new term “bodycon.” As my high school math teacher was fond of saying, “It wouldn’t take a mental giant to figure out what that means,” but the actual description would have totally frightened me, even at 20! “A bodycon dress is a one-piece figure- hugging garment that clings tightly to the body from the bust to the lower hem which can be at the upper thigh, mid- thigh, or knee. It is usually made of a lycra and polyester blend so it will hug the figure smoothly.” No wonder so many young women are obsessed with diet and exercise!

Zappo’s was my best bet: I sent for two possibilities, one of which I couldn’t even figure out how to put on and one which didn’t fit. I sent for a different size on that one.  The UPS guy and I are on a first name basis, and he waves to me when I am in town. As he picked up the most recent return, I told him it was going to be a long process because I was looking for a dress. “Good luck,” he said, and smiled.

Right now I’m pretty discouraged. Maybe I’ll wait a while to continue trolling the sites – maybe after I lose five pounds!

Dorothy C. Judd      © 2016

Next post: Monday, August 29th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dresses

  1. Lauren says:

    No question dress shopping can be the biggest challenge of all shopping. Can be difficult online. If you decide on a road trip, I’ll meet you.

  2. efmcmahon says:

    I feel your pain! I totally dislike clothes shopping. My two standby stores are JJill and Lord and Taylor. JJill has a great catalogue and style of clothing fits every body shape! Good luck.

  3. annromer says:

    My standbys, when I needed good dresses, always were LL BEAN and Appleseeds. I have tons of lovely cotton knit dresses from LL Bean and some silky poly crepe dresses – all from work and then in Richmond, concerts or dinners. Now that I don’t go out much, I guess I should begin to give away dresses. I wear slacks almost exclusively. By the way a swingy, crepe or silky pair of slacks with a tunic (matching overblouse) would be lovely and dressy. Too expensive but divine: softsurroundings.com Good luck!

Leave a Reply

