“Lobsta” p.s.

“Lobsta” p.s.

Last Monday in my haste to publish the “Lobsta” post while my tempermental computer was still working, I omitted two favorite items.

My good friend Jan (May she rest in peace.) had a summer home in Gloucester in a cove of the ocean. When I visited, she would swim out to her lobster traps and swim back with our dinner. Lobster doesn’t come any fresher than that.

The first summer I was married, my then-husband and I were hosting a lobster feast at a summer cottage in Rockport. Sunday morning O and my father went to the lobster pound and brought back a dozen and a half  live lobsters. They proceeded to fill the bathtub with tap water and put the lobsters in the tub to keep them fresh. Oops. Lobsters need salt water; they die in fresh water. O and my Dad hurried back to the lobster pound where they were assured that as long as the lobsters were cooked within six hours, it would be fine. Whew!

Dorothy C. Judd  (c)  2016

Next Post in two weeks: Monday, August 8th

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Lobsta” p.s.

  1. Carol D'Agostino says:

    My thought: Lobster Jan cooked for us in Rockport last summer she was with us.

  2. annromer says:

    Love the 2 lobster posts. Wonderful mental pictures. I am deathly allergic to shellfish, but I love the stories, sights, and activities around the hearty crustaceans!

Leave a Reply

