“Lobsta”

“Lobsta”

Commenting on my recent post about summer, a dear friend said, “You didn’t mention lobster.” There’s a reason for that. My post was about elementary school summers, and I didn’t discover lobster until the next year. Always a picky eater, I would try a new food only when it was served at someone’s house when I was a guest. With lobster,  that was when I was in seventh grade, and it was love at first bite.

I have wonderful memories of eating lobster at Brown’s, Foster’s, the Green Dragon, in Brightwaters, at Betsy’s, at Marcia’s, in Ocean Park, Maine. On Thursday nights a local restaurant has “Wicked Cheap Twins,” and I admit to ordering them often and eating both of them, sharing  only small pieces with my companion.

Back in the day, when live lobsters were on sale at the grocery store, I would buy them and cook them myself, but then stores started steaming them on request. What a luxury!

Then there are lobster rolls: Red’s in Wiscasset, Maine, (so popular the line is an hour long) and  recently at the Beach Plum in North Hampton, NH. Let me tell you, those lobster rolls are packed!

A true delicacy is what in later years I heard called lobster pie. We didn’t have a name for it, but my mother first made it for my 13th birthday. She put chunks of lobster in a casserole dish and  covered the lobster with crumbled  Ritz crackers stirred into melted butter. She then put the dish in the oven for a few minutes to warm the lobster. This became the favorite birthday dish as well as a treat for New Year’s Eve. I confess that a few years ago, to keep the tradition, I bought fresh lobster meat for an obscene amount of money a pound and said, “ Just don’t ask about the price.”

Mostly I prefer just plain steamed lobster because I enjoy the whole ritual of sucking out the legs and then cracking the claws and tail. But then I discovered a lobster popover which combines two of my all-time favorites. Unfortunately this is not available locally so I have to wait until I am in Boston, and then only after 5 P.M. You can add to the list lobster mac and cheese, if they are generous with the lobster.  And now I read that there is a lobster grilled cheese made with lobster and four kinds of cheese on sourdough bread. As far as I can determine this is available only in California, so I won’t be having that any time soon.

What more can I say: I love lobster or, as a true New Englander says, “lobsta.”

Dorothy C. Judd   © 2016

Next post: Monday, July 25th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

