Eventually

Eventually

When I was pregnant with my first child – back in 1961 – the doctor told me the baby (no information on sex of child in those days) would be born on November 18th.  I didn’t know that much about being pregnant, but I had heard that the due date was approximate. Of course I was hoping the baby would come a few days early, but the 18th came and went, and then a whole week came and went, and then it was the end of the second week of waiting, and it was December 1st. The worst was having people say, “Still around? You haven’t had that baby yet?”

When I went for my check-up that day, the doctor said, “I see no signs of the baby coming anytime soon.” At that point, I just started sobbing. The doctor patted my shoulder and said, “ Don’t worry! No one has ever been pregnant forever!” to which  I blubbered, “Well, I will be!” Meanwhile, the very next day, December 2nd, my son was born after a short labor.

So that memory made me think of the word “Eventually” and how there are so many things we (I) stress about , forgetting at the same time, that EVENTUALLY everything  will get done, will work out. For me right now it is being in the process of packing up my apartment to move from the third to the first floor, waiting to find out exactly when the apartment will be available,  finding a mover, etc. Just before I spin out of control, I remind myself that eventually it will all be accomplished.

Dorothy C. Judd  © 2016

Next post: Monday, July 18th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eventually

  1. Jennifer Judd says:

    True! I can remember saying/thinking that SO many times when the boys were little! EVENTUALLY it all works out!

Leave a Reply

