Fireworks

Fireworks

Fireworks aren’t just for the Fourth of July, but to me fireworks equal The Fourth of July , or should I say The Fourth of July equals fireworks. I’ve watched fireworks displays in many different places with many different people, but I never tire of hearing the loud boom and seeing the amazing sky art while the audience oohs and ahs. Today, though, I’m going to give some awards.

Most impressive… Boston fireworks July 4th as viewed from the Esplanade or even on TV  The 1812 Overture enhances the experience.

Most unusual…Flying over New York City on July 4th and thus looking DOWN at the fireworks

Funniest…Sitting on a lawn chair in my West Orange, NJ driveway while fireworks launched from the nearby park set off car alarms  up and down my street while all the dogs barked

Most fun…Camping out on the Esplanade in Boston for the day to watch boats of every size , decked out in patriotic colors going by on the Charles River until time for the main event

Best substitute…  In planning a 90th birthday party for a friend, she mentioned how she’d really like to have fireworks. After brief investigation we decided that would be both too expensive and unsafe. Then I thought, “Heck, you can get a DVD of the Yule Log burning, I bet they have fireworks on a DVD.   They
did, so we got it and had it playing as she came in the room and then the video  portion as background throughout the party.

But my very favorite idea is that of being one with the fireworks. Reportedly there is a company in California that will mix small amounts of your cremains with the explosives to launch you into the sky. I wish I could be there to hear the shouts of “Look! There she goes!”

Dorothy C. Judd    (C) 2016

Next post: Monday, July 11th

Dorothy C. Judd
Sent from my iPad

Click here to Reply or Forward
1.89 GB (12%) of 15 GB used
Last account activity: 4 days ago

Details

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fireworks

  1. annromer says:

    That’s going out in style, Dorothy! I can picture us old broads being launched into the universe. Thanks for a great laugh today!

  2. Carol D'Agostino says:

    Being one with the fireworks! Hmmm!

Leave a Reply

