Summer

Summer

With the exception of 6 years – the five before I entered school and the one where I foolishly pursued a career in retail – summer has meant, quite simply, “No School.”  It’s odd that the prospect  is so exciting  since  I’ve  always liked school and am, by choice, an early riser. It’s  just  the freedom of summer.
I think particularly of when I was a student in elementary school .
On that last day, we waited impatiently for the bell to ring and then walked in orderly fashion until  at last we could burst through the door, running, shouting, arms akimbo, papers flying.

So what  exactly was so wonderful about summer in those early years?
Was it the double- facing chair swing, the hammock, the wonderful green and white striped awnings shading every window?
Was it running through the sprinkler or being squirted directly  with the hose?
Was it “helping” my father make root beer, the fascination with the bottle capper? Sipping delicious root beer floats which we called brown cows?
Was it the ice cream man with his Fudgesicles, Popsicles , Dreamsicles, and, my favorite, the chocolate covered ?

It certainly wasn’t mosquitoes who made me their main target, their bite causing itchy red swellings that I scratched until they bled.
It wasn’t red Kool-Aid which gave me hives.

Maybe it was walking to the neighborhood store for a double- decker cone.
Or maybe it was the smell of the rambling roses along the front fence or the sweetness and beauty  of the peonies.
Or maybe it was waiting for the humming bird to alight on the beebalm.
Most definitely it was the chance to run out the door without a coat or sweater, to play outside all day until dark  and to read inside if I wasn’t outside.
I guess it was just all these things- and more – filed in my memory bank in a glorious folder labeled “Summer.”

Dorothy C. Judd   © 2016

Next post: Monday, June 27th

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer

  1. Lauren says:

    Loved this! So vivid the long, endless days stretched out! Also, what about the lobster???

    • twofelines says:

      Lobster didn’t come into my life until jr hi nor did beach trips. In today ‘s post I had to concentrate on elementary school years or it would have been too long. I Amaya do a Summer Part 2 and get to later years . 😀

Leave a Reply

