Books

Books

Right now I am in the process of ruthlessly culling my collection of books so it will fit in one bookcase. So I’ve been asking  myself, “When is a book more than a book?” Here are some answers.

…When it is “The Story of Religion” by Potter and the flyleaf says, “Happy Birthday to Garner T. Corson [my father] from Sam and Dorothy [my oft-mentioned aunt and uncle], Feb. 18, 1938

…When it is “Stories to Tell to Children” that has the story of Epaminondas that my Aunt Florine told me for the first time when I was 5.. I’ve told this story to countless children, and kids have come back years later for me to repeat the story  “Epaminondas, you ain’t got the sense you was born with.”

…When it is Birk and Birk’s “Understanding and Using English,” the one college textbook I have referred to over and over again through the years

… When it is Alcott’s “Little Men” and the flyleaf reads, “ To Dorothy from Uncle Sam because she was brave in the dentist’s chair,”  June 22, 1946

…When it is a book by Ann Lamott because she is the most down-to-earth inspirational writer I know

…When it is “Goren’s Complete Book of Bridge” which reminds me of my promise that I will relearn that game

…When it is “Bridge to Terabithia” or “Stone Fox,” and I need a good cry

…When it is any book set in Boston

…When it is Bryce Courtenay ‘s “The Power of One”  a book my three adult children and I read and immediately declared one of the best books ever

…When it is Greenberg’s “I Never Promised You a Rose Garden” because it is a deeply moving story. One of my favorite sayings is from this book: “Some of the things we remember best never happened.”

…When it is “Clematis”  by Ernest Cobb, read to the class by my second grade teacher. I loved Clematis and Miss Rose so much that my Uncle Sam bought me my own copy of the book  and planted a clematis bush outside my bedroom window.

Dorothy C. Judd  © 2016

Next post: Monday, May 9th.

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Books

  1. Lauren says:

    Love this! If you can believe I have never read Ann Lamott or Bridge to Terabithia. Both will be put into the rotation xoxo

  2. Joy Jackson says:

    Beautiful tribute to your literary “friends”….and aunt and uncle. Gifts all!!

  3. Pi Cheney says:

    Wish I was there to be reading with you.

  4. Ann says:

    I feel this way about several hundred books. If I were you, Dorothy, I’d keep every book you like to revisit now and then. And I’d definitely buy another book case. I have about 40 first edition children’s books, from the 1930s to the 1950s, that I must have, keep, and visit with. Old books sometimes have financial value too (to my heirs.)

Leave a Reply

