Only Child Part 2

Only Child Part 2

Just moments after I pressed “Publish” for my recent post entitled “Only Child,” I began to feel guilty. “What kind of person am I that I would not see siblings as needed daily companions, but rather as punching bags?” Well, my parents and Aunt Dot and Uncle Sam, along with my own vivid imagination were evidently companions enough.

One of the adults was always available to play a game with me: Authors, Old Maid, Sorry, Flinch, and Monopoly. My mother was an expert at jacks,  and we would play by the hour.  Dot and Sam read to me: Heidi, The Secret Garden, Pollyanna, A Little Princess, Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm, all the Pepper Family books, and too many more to mention. I could usually talk an adult  into being a pupil in my playschool which I took very seriously. I would plan complete lessons, write notes home,  and issue report cards. My mother finally refused to play if she had to be “Laura Recupero” as Laura always got into trouble and had to stay after school. As for playing church, that was a group activity with all four adults there to sing, pray, and listen to my sermons.

If all else failed, I drafted my Teddy bear and dolls, sometimes even the cat. I was a very devoted “Mom” to the point of getting up in the night when I had a sick doll. When my cat poked holes in my doll Diana’s legs, I said she had the chicken pox. Finally I had so many dolls that I pretended I was running an orphanage.

Of course in favorable weather I was outside playing with my friends as described in another post, but if I had to be inside, I was very good at keeping myself busy: I would take everything out of the kitchen cupboards and reorganize, I would catalog all the books in the house, I would pack a suitcase, line up the dining room chairs, and sit for hours on “the train.”  As I got a bit older, I would bake: cakes and popovers were my specialty. I would play the piano.

Sigh of relief! No wonder I didn’t feel the need of sibling companionship. I had all the companionship I needed, albeit from an unusual source.

Dorothy C. Judd   © 2016

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Only Child Part 2

  1. Carol D'Agostino says:

    Your blog made me think of two only children. One of them we both know and hope to see tomorrow. Marilyn Baskin. She asked for you when we spoke yesterday and I told her about your blog. I’ll try to get an email address for her. Jim and I are in South Yarmouth using a time share week needed to use or lose.

    The other only child is Rafe, 7 year old grandchild. He visited past week during spring vacation. He is a very busy guy with many interests as you were. He was churning out artwork : pictures of dragons. Plays the piano with no sheet music, and enjoyed another trip to Museum of Science.

Leave a Reply

