Olio

Olio

Olio: a miscellaneous collection. Synonym: hodgepodge. This short word with its three vowels is very often used in crossword puzzles. Please pardon today’s olio.

All of a sudden we have the word “hater.” Now I hear it all the time along with “hate on ____-.” How do you hate on something? If I hate kale in every way shape and form, does that mean I hate on it? Oh, and by the way, I heard that bone broth is the new kale. I guess I’ll hate on that too. Am I then a hater? Once upon a time, the word hate was reserved for especially strong feeling, not just thrown out there casually. And you were never to use the word hate in connection with a human being. Parents, teachers, even neighbors cautioned against this. Hate was a four-letter word before there were four letter words!

 

“Supernatural Dolls Welcome Aboard Thai Planes with Ticket.” According to Associated Press sources, (1/27/16) these life-sized dolls are considered to have the spirit of child angels and thus have supernatural powers.  Their owners treat them as real children, even buying them brand-name clothing, and must purchase tickets for them to be brought onboard. They then have a seat of their own and are served snacks and drinks. The airline has explained to employees that the dolls can be treated as children because, through a special process, life has been breathed into them. Owners take special care of these dolls in the hope that the doll will then bring good fortune.

 

“All the rage at Dartmouth and in Hanover” A winter parka branded “Canada Goose”   One for women sells for $775, for men, $825  I have yet to identify one, but supposedly they are seen all over campus and in town. Seriously?

 

Zika virus : After seeing a friend’s photos of Rio, I put that city on my travel list. Next day, all anyone could talk about was the Zika virus there. Crossed Rio off list. I don’t care that it really matters only if you’re pregnant, I just don’t like the idea of it. And since mosquitoes love me, I’ll just play it safe.

 

Dorothy C. Judd © 2016

Next post: Monday, February 8th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Olio

  1. Lauren says:

    Canada Goose all over Boston as well. They are gorgeous. I have held off for now but agree it is amazing how many are wearing at that price point.

  2. Ann says:

    Good for you on Rio. I actually think the Olympic Games should be moved or cancelled, not only because of the virus and mosquitoes, but because of the filthy waters, and the bad air. Our athletes, and audiences, don’t need that danger. As for bone broth, hating ON … too many people have too much free time. And too little education concerning the beautiful English language. 🙂

Leave a Reply

