Word

Word 2016

Inspired by author Debbie Macomber, in 2012 I chose a theme word for the year. Since then I have seen many articles about this practice. All are positive and emphasize focus.

For 2016, I have chosen HEALTH. I have reached that age when I am aware that health is just about the only thing that matters. One could have everything else and without health have nothing. Having chosen this word, I intend to concentrate on what leads to good health: proper food, exercise, meditation, deep-breathing, etc. It can be hard work. It can be boring. But at least it is easy to measure the degree to which you have been true to your intention each day.

In years past, I have had mixed success with my “word.” That first year, 2012, I chose “Joy.” Looking back I think I should have been clearer in my mind exactly what I meant by joy. I certainly didn’t mean the “Jump for joy” which would be unrealistic to maintain. But DELIGHT – especially in small things – now that I think I managed to achieve.

For 2013 I chose PATIENCE and think I benefitted greatly from this emphasis. The most helpful practice was using waiting times – as in traffic, in stores, in doctor’s offices- to practice patience. Corny as it may be, I even said – to the Universe- “Thank you for giving me this opportunity to practice patience. “ No more toe-tapping or watch- checking when waiting in line. I decided to carry that word over into the next year (and the next) along with my new word.

In 2014 I chose BOUNDARIES which I shortened to “NMB” as in “Not My Business.” This was a tough one for me because being curious or concerned about another’s life can be seen as nosy, but I call it love. The most helpful phrase was “Not my monkeys. Not my circus.” I have to repeat this over and over but it’s working even though I will no doubt be repeating that phrase the rest of my life.

Now, sad to say, I didn’t even remember the word I chose for 2015 was ACCEPTANCE , and actually was considering it as my new word for 2016 until I was checking back in my journals. But I’ve decided to go with HEALTH , and that’s one I won’t forget.

What will your word be?

Dorothy C. Judd © 2016

Next Post: Monday, January 25th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Word

  1. Lauren says:

    I love this practice and am going to recommit to it in 2016. Thanks for the reminder! I think you’re right that combining the word with actions that you will focus on is what may really bring it to life. Xoxo

  2. cynthia says:

    Great post. And I completely agree–without our health we have nothing. Thanks for the reminder. I’m going to try to make better food choices today. I really enjoyed seeing your past words too. My word for this year is DECLUTTER.

Leave a Reply

