Ireland

Ireland

Later today I fulfill a long-held dream when I leave to visit Ireland. Growing up in the Boston area, I thought every day was St. Patrick’s Day and that everyone was Irish except me. This illusion was reinforced among other things, by listening each weekday at about 7 A.M. to the Carl Moore Show called “Top o’ the Morning.” Along with banter about the Irish, Carl Moore played the piano and sang Irish songs which became a part of me. (Author’s note: all lyrics are from memory though I checked Google and made a correction or two and in some cases added detail.)

“I’ll Take You Home Again, Kathleen” …to where your heart has ever been since first you were my bonny bride…

“Mother Machree” Oh I love the dear silver that shines in your hair and the brow that’s all furrowed and wrinkled with care…Your fond love has cheered me and guided me right…God bless you and keep you Mother Machree (These lyrics I had to Google although the name Mother Machree was very familiar.)

“Wearin’ of the Green”   Oh, Paddy dear, and did you hear the news that’s goin’ round ?The shamrock is forbid by law to grow on Irish ground. St. Patrick’s Day no more we’ll keep, his colors can’t be seen, for there’s a bloody law against the wearing of the green.

“Kathleen Mavourneen”   Mavourneen, mavourneen, my sad tears are falling, to think that from Erin and thee I must part! [This song was popular during the Civil War]

“My Wild Irish Rose” … the sweetest flower that grows…[Found out this is from a movie by the same name; 1947; nominated for an Academy Award]

Place names embedded in my memory:

It’s a Long Way to” Tipperary “ ..but my heart lies there

“Too Ra Loo Ra Loo Ral “… Over in Killarney, many years ago, my mother sang this song to me in tones so sweet and low. Too Ra Loo Ra Loo Ral, hush now don’t you cry. Too Ra Loo Ra Loo Ral that’s an Irish lullaby

“Rose of Tralee “ …The pale moon was rising above the green mountain the sun was declining beneath the blue sea ….the beautiful vale of Tralee

“Molly Malone”…In Dublin’s fair city where girls are so pretty, I first set my eyes on sweet Milly Malone as she wheeled her wheelbarrow through streets broad and narrow, singing cockles and mussels alive, a-live oh!

And just for fun:   “McNamara’s Band” We play at wakes and weddings and every fancy ball… a credit to old Ireland is McNamara’s band… with Ryans, O’Briens and Sheehans and Meehans

“Harrigan” H – A- double R– I- G-A-N spells Harrigan; Proud of all the Irish blood that’ in me; never a man can say a word agin me … it’s a name that a shame never has been connected with, Harrigan, that’s ME.

 

But my favorite was “Galway Bay” with its haunting melody and sentimental lyrics.

If you ever go across the sea to Ireland,
then maybe at the closing of your day,
you can sit and watch the moon rise over Claddagh,
and see the sun go down on Galway Bay.

Ironically, our first stop is Galway, so I hope to see the sun go down on Galway Bay.

Dorothy C. Judd    © 2015

Please note: the next post will be on Monday, October 5th as I will be in Ireland until the 1st.

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

