77

77

77: It must be said. I’ve been 77 for three days. 77 doesn’t have quite the ring to it that 75 had, being a milestone, or 76, calling up images of trombones, but 77 it is. I must admit I no longer feel like I’m 50; 53 maybe?

Here’s a recent thought: the women who were pregnant in the generation following mine had a Bible: “What to Expect When You’re Expecting.” If there were a book “What to Expect When You’re Aging,” I wouldn’t suggest anyone’s reading it. Perhaps the most common feeling as one ages is that of feeling vulnerable.

But it isn’t all that bad. I call it “Still Life with Dorothy” as I still like subbing at the high school, I still like to walk every day, I still like to travel, I still like movies, I still like keeping up with all the latest fashion, slang, and ideas. But there is no denying I have less energy, am less able to multi-task, and have those moments when I can’t think of a name or a word.

So what does all this mean for you, my dear reader? No matter how old you are today, you will never be younger than you are today. Use your energy on what’s important to you and especially things you enjoy. Don’t let any of that energy go to waste. Don’t postpone the fun stuff.

Dorothy C. Judd      (c)   2015

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 77

  1. Jen Judd says:

    Love this!

  2. Lauren says:

    As always, love your thoughts, advice, and joie de vivre!! Xoxo

  3. Ann says:

    Being more and more house-bound, and “alone in Richmond” these days, I have to find small tasks and activities to enjoy or look forward to. This week, it’s getting three pairs of new glasses [trifocals; reading only; computer only.] That could be truly thrilling. Also, I’m planning my usual trip down to Boca Raton this winter (then paying for it the following 12 months!) I thought I’d be moved back to Boca by now, with family and friends there – they ask, “When are you moving back!!” It’s not that simple … at 76, and 77 in mid-December. I admire all you are still doing and enjoying, Dorothy, and I’m in awe of my sister Sue and brother in law Peter. At 74, they are still going strong. What is the answer: MOVE where you want and need to be, before you can’t walk much or pack at all!!

  4. efmcmahon says:

    Well said Dorothy. Everyday is a gift not to be squandered.

  5. cynthia says:

    75 may be a milestone, and 76 may call forth trombones, but 77 sounds extraordinarily lucky! So happy, lucky birthday to you, Dorothy–and many more!

  6. twofelines says:

    Cynthia, I like that way of looking at it! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

