Laundry

Laundry

Recently a picture of clothes pins popped up on Facebook (Thanks, Ann) with the question “What Do You Remember About Laundry?” It turns out I remember a lot.

What made everything about laundry different in my family is that we never owned a washing machine. My mother sent sheets and my father’s shirts to a commercial laundry, and she and my Aunt Dot washed the rest by hand in the kitchen. On Wednesdays, my certifiably schizoid Aunt Gertie came to help them, and I could write a whole other story about her.

By the time I was twelve, I was doing my own wash , by choice, the only helpful thing I did. But here’s where the clothespins came in: I LOVED hanging clothes on the line, whether in the yard or the basement. There was something about securing the clothes  by jamming on a clothespin that appealed to me. And when I brought the clothes in from outside, they had the most wonderful clean smell . A hold-over from those days is that I totally enjoy folding clothes, especially warm from the dryer and will happily fold clothes for whole families if we are together!

I have one very unpleasant memory associated with laundry. While vacationing in Maine when I was twelve, I became friends with the au pair at our inn. One day I decided to help her with the laundry since it fascinated me that she was using a washing machine with a wringer. Unfortunately, I wasn’t paying that much attention, and suddenly my left hand was going through the wringer with the clothes. It was before automatic releases, but luckily she had enough presence of mind to shut off the machine. A hasty trip to the emergency room ensued, but miraculously I had not broken any bones although I was in a lot of pain. I was there with my Aunt Dot and Uncle Sam, and we finished the vacation, but it was the end of swimming in the ocean. At home, we went first to the family doctor who took off the bandages to disclose two enormous blisters on the hand. He wanted to operate, but my Aunt Dot wouldn’t hear of it. She took me to my pediatrician who lanced the blisters which eventually healed and left me with two large scars on my hand.

If in years to come, I’ve ever said, on a really tough day, “I feel like I’ve been put through the wringer,” I know whereof I speak!

Dorothy C. Judd                (c)              2015

Next post: Monday, July 20

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Laundry

  1. efmcmahon says:

    Great story! Brought back equally vivid memories of helping my maternal grandmother with laundry in her basement; and boy, did she have rituals she honed to a science! Especially hanging out dish towels on her pullout line that went across her back yard. You see, Grammy ( originally from Newfounland) often hesitated to hang out the DT’s because flies might “pit” on them and this was not sanitary!

    She lived in Beachmont MA and the Trolley into Boston passed her backyard every day, so all the riders would wave to us as they passed. I clearly remember her clothes pin bag which was a linen Dutch girl. Thanks for reviving all the memories Dorothy!!

  2. cynthia says:

    So sorry about that accident, Dorothy. This is a wonderful post–and I wrote about clothes hanging on a line on July 17th! Great minds : )

Leave a Reply

