Memories

Memories

“Reset your memories every ten years.” Alexandra Fuller in “Leaving Before the Rains Come.”

What a great idea! What that process might mean and how to accomplish it have been whirring around in my mind since reading it. I want to share my thoughts, but they are random, not in essay form, so bear with me.

The first time I sub in a math class at the high school I say, “I deleted those files long ago. Look around the class and see who might be able to help you.” So I already have an idea of my brain with its files. And now I am wondering how to deliberately put unpleasant memories in a file and delete them. It would probably be more effective to immediately delete that memory, but if it is still hanging around , hit the delete button.

I am proud of the fact that I have what everyone calls a great memory, and there are huge chunks of it that I love to revisit, so I’ll continue to choose “save” for those chunks. But is it really valuable to drag around a memory of a time when I was disappointed or hurt or embarrassed or saddened? Delete.

A related quote: “Keep the lesson but lose the baggage.”

Then there is a quote (from “I Never Promised You a Rose Garden” by Hannah Green) I have mentioned several times: “Many of the things we remember best never happened.” The main character in the book is tortured by a memory of trying to throw her baby sister out the window. The therapist, over time, points out to her that a.) she was too young and too small to reach into the crib and lift her sister over the side , and b.) the window in the apartment was above her reach.

Maybe you are familiar with a story attributed to Mark Twain that a cat who has jumped on a hot stove will never jump on a hot stove again, but neither will it jump on any stove. So there are experiences from which we have over-learned and continue to generalize. Examine carefully, be aware, and delete.

When cleaning out my brain files I’d like to delete the complete list of helping verbs and the one of prepositions that I was forced to learn in seventh grade. Maybe that would make room so I could recall the name of someone I met last week.

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next post: Monday, May 11th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Memories

  1. joy jackson says:

    Good thoughts and excellent advice!! Disc space is increasing in value every day!!

  2. Ann says:

    Good. I need to reread this often. Somehow lately some nagging, painful memories are surfacing – as if I didn’t understand them fully when they happened, or because I need to say farewell to them, or because my daily life is “smaller,” and more contained due to disabilities. Who knows! I try to drop in a very good memory, to savor, after the painful memory (danger to me or loved ones,) has spiked up into conscious thought. The quote about the cat never jumping on any stove, after the one hot stove burned it, is especially apt. Regrets, regrets … not a good way to end one’s life. Thanks as always for a good post.

Leave a Reply

