Neology

Neology

Whenever I came across the now ubiquitous word “baby bump,” I’d think, “Humph. I had babies before you commented on the bump.” I started noticing other “new” words or usages like that, and the following is a list of words casually compiled from the media and personal conversation in just 2 days. How many of these terms do you think you would have heard just 20 years ago – or maybe even 5 years ago? (Does not include Drug-related terms or technology terms.)

Booty call
I need space
Reach out
Baby bump
Hang in there
Whatever
Informs my practice
Genre
PMS
PTSD
Asperger’s
Autism
Gangnam Style
Twerking
Selfie
Hooking up
The “F” bomb
Helicopter parents
The  Mommy Wars
Tiger moms
Transparent
Stepping up to the plate (other than in baseball

Journey

Street cred
Quinoa
Botox
Haters
Mindfulness

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next post: Monday, March 2

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Neology

  1. Lisa Gross says:

    I love this. It is so true!!

  2. Ann says:

    Yup. I hate them all because they are the lazy person’s way of communicating. Vocabulary levels drop yearly. I blame poor schools and lack of reading by some young people. But I also blame texting, Facebook, Twitter et al – for making us a nation of “shorthand” speakers, similar to the old Western Union telegrams when senders paid for each word, except the word “stop” between each sentence. Sigh!

  3. picheney says:

    some of those i’d never heard. Pi

Leave a Reply

