Acceptance

Acceptance

ACCEPTANCE, that is the word I’ve chosen for 2015. Acceptance is tough for me. I’m the one who can’t stand the phrase “It is what it is” because I’m sure if  I or someone else just tried harder, tried something different, it wouldn’t have to be that way.

That choice of a word just came to me, out of the blue, several weeks ago. And now I’m surprised at how it resonates with my chosen words of the last three years.

JOY: (2012) Consider my recent post where I quoted Teddy Roosevelt: “Comparison is the thief of joy.” Lately I’ve thought a lot about aging and the disservice I do to myself when I compare myself to others, be they peers, those younger, or my 90-year-old friend who seems to have boundless energy. I am slowly coming to accept what is here and me, right now.

PATIENCE: (2013) Really, I’m doing better with this, both in situations and with people. Could it be that I am finally accepting that people are who they are and that they are not going to change or “improve” because I want them to do so? My way is not the best way or the only way!

BOUNDARIES: (2014) Being aware of boundaries has helped me immensely. Repeating “Not my circus” helps me remember that it is not my place to “should” others or to get involved in their stress.

For me acceptance will involve ridding myself of the feeling that acceptance is giving up or defeat.

So, Happy New Year. If you have chosen a word for the year, good luck with it. And wish me good luck with growing in acceptance.

(Dorothy C. Judd)

Next post: Monday, January 12th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Acceptance

  1. Lisa Gross says:

    Thank you for this. My New Year’s resolution is to be more patient. Your words are very helpful to me.

  2. joy jackson says:

    Love this Dorothy! Don’t know about a single word but the words “not my circus”, that’s a keeper!!!!

  3. twofelines says:

    This may sound corny, but when I first started trying to be patient and I would have an experience like being in an endless checkout line I would say ( To the universe if u will), “thank you for this opportunity to practice being patient!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

