Facebook

Facebook

Some people despise it. Some people will have nothing to do with it. I, personally, love it! And “Why,” you ask?

The biggest reason is that it is a vehicle for staying in touch with family and friends. Snippets, pictures, all welcome. Related is hearing from former students – and even their parents. Long ago I wished there were a technology that would allow me to have at least a brief look at what my “kids” were doing now. Voila! It’s such fun to find out where they went to school, who they married, where they live now, how many children they have. I love the shout outs and appreciate the fact that these kids recall so much from so long ago. Pictures are a bonus. The best is when Jessica, a student I had in second and third grade (34 years ago) posted current pictures of her children, one the age Jess was when in my class and that child is a total clone!

Friends post recipes – with pictures- and I’ve tried many and added some to my collection. Slow cooker chicken and dumplings was the best! Sometimes I even remember the everyday hints when I need them.

Inspiration is a big theme, and I look forward to quotes focusing on encouragement, positive thinking, and goal-setting. However, I am content to look at the pictures of physical exercise and don’t plan to try “planking.”

And don’t laugh, but I love every cat picture that pops up on the screen. And many do because of cat sites that I visit. I find looking at cat pictures to be totally relaxing, and, if I could, would be overrun with cats.

Now…a word of caution. Comparison is the thief of joy, according to Teddy Roosevelt. And I confess that at times I have fallen prey to what I call “Facebook Envy.” Pictures of the beach, scenic or populated, can do this to me if I’m not careful. For a period of time, a friend posted a picture of sunrise and/or sunset on a familiar beach – from her deck- every day. I had to accept the fact that this would never be my life but that I could look out my window at a sizeable green hill, and that I could be at the Connecticut River in less than ten minutes. Pictures of dogs – not all dogs- can do this as well, and I “wish” I could have one. But then I look at my two cats, often one asleep in my lap as I type. So I “get a grip” and say a word of thanks for what is my life.

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next post: Monday, Jan. 5th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Facebook

  1. Ann says:

    Perfect! I agree with you.

  2. joy jackson says:

    Bravo! Well said!

Leave a Reply

