76

76

Not 76 trombones

Not the Broadway musical

It’s me! 76 years old today.

In a recent cartoon, Dennis the Menace asked, “Grandpa, did you get old all at once?” If he asked me, I’d have to say, “Yup. I did.” Even when I was young, some days  I used to say, “Gee, I feel old today.”  But one day several months ago I woke up and said, “^&$%. I AM old.”  The  age witch gave me a really good whack with her broom this year.  Sorry, but have to keep it real.

Here are some musings:

Too old to put things off until next year

Too old for jury duty

Too old to give blood

Too old to develop early- onset Alzheimer’s

Too old to die young

BUT

Young enough to enjoy  hanging  out with teens

Young enough to keep trying to do better

Young enough  to love my third floor apartment even though there isn’t an elevator

Young enough to keep learning new things

Young enough for hopes and dreams and adventures

 

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next post: Monday, September 8th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 76

  1. Lauren says:

    Yay!! Happy Birthday!! Xoxo

  2. jen says:

    Love this! Happy birthday! ❤

  3. Ann says:

    3rd floor!! Oh, my. AM sure it keeps you agile. Hope you have help now and then with the groceries and kitty litter. hew. I love both your lists and have printed out this blog to tuck into my calendar for December 15th when I too turn 76. Will there be trombones playing for us? Hope so. Happy birthday, Dorothy. All good things!

  4. efmcmahon says:

    Happy Birthday to one of the most inspiring adults I know! You note so much to be grateful for that matters. Enjoy a wonderful day! I love our three flights of stairs too. xoxo

  5. cynthia says:

    Belated birthday wishes, Dorothy, or early ones : ) I love this. It’s so nice to read about 76. I hope one day to be able to write about it as well. My favorite 76’s: Too old to develop early- onset Alzheimer’s, Too old to die young, and Young enough to love my third floor apartment even though there isn’t an elevator.

    I hope you will write one this year about 77!!!

Leave a Reply

