Salt

Salt

A heading Thursday in both the Boston Globe and our local paper caught my eye :    “Study Questions Need To Reduce Salt Intake.” Of course there is controversy,  and by next week the opposite point of view will be touted, but I say when in doubt go with the side that favors your habit. Besides, they are also saying that too little salt is also problem.

Anyone who knows me knows that Cheez-Its and potato chips are my drugs of choice. I had an inordinate fondness for both of these from the time I was in elementary school and could purchase them at a nearby Mom and Pop store. This fondness continues to this day, but since my blood pressure tends to run on the low side, I’ve made only feeble attempts to kick the habit.

Once I told someone I could get through anything as long as I had my Cheez-its. She thought I said as long as I had my Jesus. Embarrassing to disillusion her.

I know there is no logical reason that potato chips should make things better, but by gosh they do.  I could give lots of examples, but you’ll just have to trust me. And I certainly don’t need gourmet chips or specialty flavors. My favorites are actually store brand plain chips. Like an alcoholic I try to vary the store where I buy chips. Recently when the clerk at the corner store just looked at me as I bought a small bag for the third day in a row I muttered,” They ‘re my addiction.” “There are lots worse addictions,” he said.
A year or two ago I was experiencing consistently very low blood pressure. When I called the doctor he said, “Eat some potato chips,”. “You’re kidding,” I said. “ I’ve been waiting my whole life to have a doctor tell me that!”

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next post: Thursday, August 21

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

