Benedict

Benedict

Note to readers: last month you met Bixby. After Bixby went to the Great Catnip Field in the sky, Benedict, a year-old stray, rescued by a local shelter, found his forever home with me. Here he is in his own words.

My name is Benedict Patterson Judd. That may seem like a lot of name for a cat, but I can explain. Even before she met me, my human chose Bennie for my name. She needed a “B” name to follow Barnum, Bailey, Bonkers, Bixby, and Bonnie. I already had the name Patterson which she wanted to keep, so I was Bennie Patterson Judd for a day. Then, my human read that Pope Benedict LOVED cats, so she said, “That’s it. Bennie will be short for Benedict.” Later she read that the very day she got me, April 19, 2008, Pope Benedict was speaking at the United Nations. So…Benedict Patterson Judd, that’s me.

I am extremely handsome:  orange with dark orange, brownish stripes. Cats like me are called ginger cats or marmalade cats. My eyes are like amethysts! I have a nice thick tail and very nicely shaped ears. My whiskers are mostly white, but there are a few black ones. I think that is very distinctive.

When my human went to the Humane Society, my beautiful orange stripes caught her attention right away.  I walked  over to her, put my front paws up on her leg and mewed, “Yo, here I am. I’m the one. What took you so long?” She couldn’t take me home that day – something about red tape, but three days later she came back for me. I let her know she made the right choice by settling down in the cat carrier and staying quiet for the whole ride.

When I got to my new home, I started to explore and quickly came nose to nose with Bonnie, a gray and white cat who already lived there. We were both polite and just backed away from each other. I was willing to be good friends with Bonnie, but she wasn’t interested. Now we even fight sometimes.

I hear that Bixby liked to get in the tub and drink from the faucet. I like to do that even more than he did. I love to sit and look out the window, and so far I didn’t almost fall out the way he did once. My very favorite place used to be the cat tree where I would run up to the top roost and survey the living room or sleep. Now my favorite place is this tiered contraption by the bedroom window. First thing in the morning I like to sit on the top “shelf” and watch the yard and the street. When I get tired I curl up in a lower level that is a bucket which provides a tight, cozy fit for me. If no one can find me, I’m under the bed.

I follow my human everywhere, jump up in her lap at every opportunity, and even let her play with my tail and rub between the toes on my back feet.  When she takes a nap I lie as close to her as possible.  I recognize the words drink, bathtub, catnip, and bed. I’m not that great with “stop” though. When I hear the Jeopardy theme song, I race and jump on the bed to watch it with my human. She sent a picture of me watching the show to Alex Trebek, and he sent me an 8 x 10 glossy signed, “To Benedict., my most loyal four-legged fan.”

My human is amazed that I am so loving, especially since I spent quite a few months in shelters and all they say about me is that I was a stray.  I don’t understand why she’s so amazed. After all, Bixby sent me.

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next post: Thursday, August 14th

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Benedict

  1. Ann says:

    Love this!! The Jeopardy connection is very impressive.

  2. Brenda says:

    I’m officially a fan of your blog. Great story about Benedict! –
    Brenda Jovenich

Leave a Reply

