Bixby

Bixby

September, 2001 – March, 2008

Bixby, a magnificent all-black male cat with golden eyes came into my life at about 10 weeks. Here he describes life in his own words.

I was born on September 30, 2001. There were seven of us in the litter, but I don’t remember much until I was ten weeks old. That is when my human picked me out from all the other kittens to go live with her. She named me Bixby.

Two other cats lived in my new home. Bailey bossed me around a lot, but she was sick, and soon it was just me and Barnum. Barnum is old and fat, and I beat him up most of the time. However, once I a while I like to hang out with him.

I like lettuce, Cheez-Its, Wheat Thins, and Special K. I also like to lick photos, envelopes, stamps, and anything with glue on it. I am not allowed to go outside, but I have a wonderful cat tree right in my house. I run up and down it and swing from it. Oh, and when my human does calf stretches, I stand beside her, put my front paws high up on the wall and get a good stretch myself!

I like high places. This got me into trouble a few times because I ran up curtains and screens. My human didn’t know how to make me stop. She called the Humane Society. They told her to put coins in an empty soda can and rattle the can. One time, though, there was almost a disaster! My human was just about to shake the can when she realized I was hanging on the OUTSIDE of the screen. The frame of the screen was a bit bowed, and I just slipped right outside the third floor window. When she ran to the window crying, I fell to the ledge and held on with my claws until she pushed out the screen and got me inside. That pretty much cured me except I forget now and then. I like to jump up on the headboard of the bed and sit and look around the room. I also like the view from the top of the cat tree.

I also like water. I like to roll in the shower when it is all wet. I even like it if my human rubs me down with water. I have two stuffed animals. I like to carry them around. I dump them in the shower and sometimes I put them in the litter box. Oh, and I can open closet doors and sometimes I take stuff out and play with it.

If I hear a lid or cap or a piece of plastic being removed in the kitchen, I run out, grab it, run off with it, and toss it up in the air and catch it. I snatch scouring pads, too. Sometimes I hide things and my human finds them behind pillows. My favorite hiding place is under the refrigerator. Then I wait for my human to get a meter stick and scoop out my treasures. As soon as they are out, I hid them again.

Once when my human was away for a week, I got really mad. I took the phone off the hook, shredded a roll of toilet paper, took toss pillows and put them around the room and even shoved sofa cushions off the sofa!

I have one habit my human can’t seem to break: whenever the door to the apartment opens, I run out and scoot down the hallway. I run fast and then drop and roll.

I know some of those things sound naughty, but mostly I am a really terrific cat. I love to sit right near my human when she is reading, and at night I like to get under the top cover and curl up against her. I let her carry me around, and that is one time when I purr.

The other morning, I nibbled on roses for breakfast. I stretched and got some exercise. I washed myself up a bit and then found a warm patch of sunlight for my nap. My human said, “Bixby, you’ve got a good life.” I think she’s right!

 

Editor’s note: Sadly Bixby’s life was cut short at just six years of age when he was diagnosed with a cancer that filled his entire chest cavity.

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next post: Thursday, July 17th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bixby

  1. Ann says:

    What a wonderful cat he was – full of intelligence and personality. You gave him a good life, and it’s obvious he loved you. My Marlin did a few of those things too. I love smart cats!! Merlin was half Burmese. I hear from journals written by an author I loved that Abysinians are super smart and loving, if either of us is thinking of being owned by a new cat. I kind of like “mixed” breeds – calmer?? Meowr!

  2. twofelines says:

    I’ve been most impressed by “patio cats” as they now term the old alley cats. I also love rescues but don’t dare get another cat. I have two now one of whom is in failing health. After we get to be a certain age, I’ve been told it’s not fair to get a cat who might live15 or more years because who will take care of a cat who outlives us?

  3. Carol D'Agostino says:

    Bixby was a very smart and interesting cat!

Leave a Reply

