Autograph Books

Autograph books

Here’s a peek into my autograph book from the very early ‘50’s. I am struck by the attitudes and the innocence, especially when I look at the sophistication of kids that age- 11 to 14- today.

Sense a pattern in the following?

First comes love. Then comes marriage. Then comes Dotty with the baby carriage. ( The only acceptable order back then)
When you get married and have twins, don’t come to my house for safety pins. ( Several entries)
When you are married and live in a tree, send me a cocoanut C.O.D.

I wish you luck, I wish you joy. I wish you first a baby boy. And when his hair begins to curl, I wish you then a baby girl.
Dotty now. Dotty forever. Corson for now, but not forever. (Several entries. One person added “I hope.”)

 

Then there were the ever popular variations of “roses are red…”

Roses are red violets are blue. I saw your face someplace in the zoo.

Roses are red, violets are blue. I pity the boy that falls for you.
Roses are red, violets are blue. I’ve got a bull dog that looks like you.

Roses are red, violets are blue. I can say of you only WOO,
Roses are red, violets are blue. You got a form like a B52.
Roses are red, violets are blue. The shorter the skirt, the better the view.
Some were just amusing rhymes:
I love you a’mighty. I love you a’mighty. I want your pajamas next to my nightie. Now don’t blush and don’t get red, I mean on the clothesline and not in the bed.
When you are kissing by the garden gate, remember love is blind but the neighbors ain ‘t
Girls when they went out to swim once dressed like Mother Hubbard, but now they have a bolder look, they dress more like her cupboard.
When you see a monkey up in a tree, pull his tail and think of me.
Remember Grant. Remember Lee. O heck with them, remember me.

The man who wrote the alphabet was very, very smart, but not when he put you and I so very far apart.
2 sweet 2 be 4 gotten

Out on the ocean, carved on a rock: three little words, “forget me not.”

Yours ‘til the barn dances.

There are many kinds of ships, but the best ship is friendship.

 

Some were autograph book related:

I pity the river. I pity the brook. I pity the one who won’t write in this book.

I hope you will never be the color of this page. (Blue)

One person wrote in cursive mirror writing.
By hook or by crook, I ‘ll be the last to write in this book.

 

Many pages were just signatures – mostly boys; only one celebrity: Arthur Fiedler, director of the Boston Pops.

 

Ones from teachers are too self-serving to include.

 

But I especially love the ones from close family because each reflects the person totally.
If at first you don’t succeed, try, try  again. My mother
Roses are red, violets are blue, sugar is sweet and so are you.  My father
To err is human but to forgive is divine.   ” Uncle Sam”
The world is so full of a number of things, I’m sure we should all be as happy as kings. Aunt Dorothy
To have a friend, you must first be one. Aunt Florine

 

© Dorothy C. Judd

 

Next Post: Thursday, July 3rd

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Autograph Books

  1. Ann says:

    Wonderful, Dorothy. What a trip down memory lane. Hugs!

  2. Lisa Gross says:

    Love it!!

  3. Lauren says:

    Loved reading this and tried, but failed to find my autograph book. I can tell you that I believe my mother wrote a version of what your Dad wrote, which in retrospect seems out of character. I can’t remember exactly what my Dad wrote but I know he signed it D.O.D. We always used that when referring or writing to him – it stood for Dear Old Dad.

  4. twofelines says:

    You’re right about out of character for Eileen. Love that D.O.D.

Leave a Reply

