Naming a Cat

Naming a Cat

Naming a cat is a very serious task because of course you want the name to match the cat. Sometimes cats help when they have a distinctive look; for example Boots, Mittens, Whiskers or Socks. But more often it’s up to you. In my lifetime, I’ve owned sixteen cats, but the number is deceiving because a few of those cats died an early death, and often I had two or even three cats at a time. But each was named thoughtfully and it’s fun to run through the list.

Topsy – named by my father for a character in “Uncle Tom’s Cabin”

Vicki – again named by my father and short for Victory which was on everyone’s mind (1943)

Adelaide (Adelie) – a cat I named for a friend

Ginger – My Dad said he was a ginger tabby.

1st and 2nd Timothy – each died very young of kitten fever, but notice the Biblical reference

AliBam – I was madly in love with a soldier stationed in Alabama

Simba – named by my kids; means lion in Swahili

Kit and Caboodle – since they were littermates, I wanted them to have paired names

Bonkers – named by one of my students when I described  her wild and crazy behavior

Bailey – named by my daughter for George Bailey in “It’s a Wonderful Life”

Barnum- if you have a Bailey, you have to have a Barnum

(Thus began the custom, suggested by my students, that all my future cats have a name beginning with “B.”)

Bixby – just liked the sound of the name

Bonnie Belle – a sweet name for a sweet cat

Benedict – named for Pope Benedict who was visiting in the U.S. at the time and said in an interview that he loved cats

I probably won’t get another cat, but if I do, I’ll name it Bing Clawsby, a name I saw on the Internet.

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next post: May 15th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

