Pocket Full of Memories

Pocket Full of Memories

( From the archives. Originally published in “Guideposts,” August, 1997)

When I came back from a vacation in France, I unintentionally left a franc in the pocket of my blazer. Several months later, when I wore the coat again, I reached into the pocket for a tissue and found the coin instead. All the happy memories of Paris came rushing back to me. The experience was so wonderful, I decided to keep the franc in my pocket to brighten some other day.

Thus began my habit of carrying “memories” in my pockets: a ticket stub from a glorious exhibit of Matisse paintings, a note of appreciation written by one of my second graders, a wooden nickel from a college alumni weekend. They never fail to being me a smile.

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next post: uncertain as I am in Florida for a family matter

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pocket Full of Memories

  1. Lisa Gross says:

    You make me smile. Thinking of you and hope you are doing well.

  2. Ann says:

    Thinking of you, with love, and friendship. I have family in Boca Raton; if you need anything and aren’t far away, just call me!

Leave a Reply

