MYOB

MYOB

Long before there were abbreviations like IMHO and LOL and LMAO for ease of communication on Facebook and texting, there was MYOB.  And in 1949, when I was in fifth grade, I got in big trouble for writing that on a piece of paper and passing it to the person across the aisle from me. In case MYOB is new to you, it stands for Mind Your Own Business.

Come to think of it, maybe it wasn’t the message but the passing of the note itself although I certainly got a lecture on how rude the message was. Anyway, I was big on passing notes and also on whispering. In 8th and 9th grade Latin , at the end of each marking period the teacher would go down the rows calling out our names, averages, and letter grades. Just about every time I would hear, “Miss Corson, 98, A ; A in effort ; B (stressed) in conduct. ”

Today I suppose I’d be one of those kids holding my phone just beneath my desk and texting! I just hope I wouldn’t act so surprised when the teacher realized what I was doing!

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next post: Thursday, April 24th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MYOB

  1. Lisa Gross says:

    I can’t image you ever getting a B for conduct! You are an A in my book.

Leave a Reply

