The Easter Bunny

The Easter Bunny

By now the Easter Bunny must be busy coloring his eggs and laying in supplies of chocolate and peeps.
Growing up my family would have nothing to do with the Easter Bunny saying they never heard of him until we moved to Medford and everyone talked about the “Yeaster (sic) Bunny.”

Random Easter treats must have made their way into the house because I remember a fairly large decorated egg made of hardened sugar with a peep hole in the end through which one could view an Easter tableau. I think it might have been the women at the empty tomb.

Dot and my mother were not averse to outfitting me with new clothes for Easter: often a dress with a coat or a suit and new shoes, and always a hat. Unfortunately the one I recall best was a bright orange suit, cut down from one of Dot’s suits. Worse yet, that was the year Dot and my mother gave me a Toni home permanent which made me look like Bozo the Clown.

Fast forward a number of years and add to my unfamiliarity with Easter baskets the fact that my then-husband was a minister making it important to focus solely on the religious aspects of the day. Strangely, new clothes still made the cut. But when certain parishioners of that first church heard my child would not be getting an Easter basket, they were appalled and decided to take matters into their own hands, delivering a basket filled with the forbidden goodies.

This story must have followed us to the next church, but this time the donor left the basket on the doorstep, rang the bell, and hurried away. Now comes the unbelievable part. When my child rushed to open the door, I heard screams of “Mama, Mama, Mama. Look, the Easter Bunny.” I thought he meant the basket of candy, but in fact there was a real live, if wild, rabbit hopping across the lawn. I couldn’t bear to counter his excitement with facts, and did I even want to do that?

After that, I caved, and each year we colored eggs and filled baskets with sugary treats.
So, I ask you, “Is there an Easter Bunny? What do you think?

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next post: Monday, April 21st

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Easter Bunny

  1. Ann says:

    Yes, Dorothy, there is an Easter bunny, as long as we have fun and love in our hearts. Happy Easter, my friend!

Leave a Reply

