March Winds

March Winds

From the archives of Dorothy Corson

A moaning, groaning wintry wind

Comes whipping through the air.

The cold March winds are here again,

So everyone beware.

They playfully tweak a small boy’s cap,

A gust for a line of clothes,

A helpful push for a big red kite,

As into the sky it goes.

They push the clouds with gusty moves

O’er country and o’er town,

Stinging faces and quickening paces,

Forcing all heads down.

Yes, March winds roar,

But spirits soar,

For spring is coming soon.

Author’s note: This poem originally appeared in the March, 1955, edition of the Medford (MA) High School “Little Giant.” Its innocence and simplicity embarrass me when I read the sophisticated work of today’s high school students.

(c) Dorothy C. Judd

Next post: Monday, March 24th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to March Winds

  1. Ann says:

    “Sophisticated” is often superficial and blasé. I’ll take sincerity and enthusiasm any day.

  2. Lauren says:

    Personally I love it and the fact that you shared it. Xoxo

Leave a Reply

