Unplugging

Unplugging

I read somewhere that Friday, March 7th is the National Day of Unplugging. After careful consideration, I regret to say that I am not unplugging anything. I am not unplugging my computer because I would not to be able to post to my blog; plus, let’s face it, I love email and Face Book. I am not unplugging my phone because I might miss an important call. Nor can I guarantee that I will not use or recharge my Kindle, iPad, iPod, or phone. I’m pretty sure they meant just electronics, but I’m carrying it one step further

I am not unplugging my microwave because without it I would barely eat these days. I am not unplugging the fridge because what about the food in the freezer? I am not unplugging the lamps because I like candles for atmosphere and aroma, but not for light.

Sometimes I do this: stand in a room, and then another room, look around, and think of what electrical appliances would stun my parents if they came back to Earth for a day. I see that computer and printer, I see the electric can opener, the coffee machine, the toaster oven. I see the electric pencil sharpener, the shredder, the digital clock, my digital camera, the digital picture frame, the flat screen TV, even my electric tooth brush.

Oh, wait. Maybe I could unplug the TV because “Parenthood,” which I MUST see is tonight, not tomorrow night. And maybe the printer…Surely I could get along without that for a day.    Hmmm.

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next post: Monday, March 10th

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Unplugging

  1. Lisa Gross says:

    Love it! You are so clever!

Leave a Reply

