Caring and kindness

Caring and Kindness

Since tomorrow is Valentine’s Day, it’s a good time to talk about acts of caring and kindness. Through my own experiences over the last several years, I have come to believe in “No Grand Gesture Required.” It is amazing how supportive and reassuring it is simply to have friends say that you or your loved one are in their thoughts and prayers.

Sometimes when a family member, friend or neighbor is going through tough times – whether illness, grieving, a loved one’s illness – I’ve  wondered  what to do for them . I confess that there are times I have struggled over “What’s the right thing to do? Is that enough?” But I have come to appreciate the greatest gift of all: letting people know that they are in your thoughts and, if it’s your belief, your prayers. And then act on it: really think about the person and send out those positive vibes.

Let them know through a call, a card, or email. And for the long haul, it can be as simple as a text or email saying, “Thinking of you.” It can even be a text of one word: “Hi.” This reminds the person that you are still on their mind, that they are not in this alone.

So “No Grand Gesture Required” refers to the simple gift of positive thoughts, and if you’re nearby, a hug, even if this is a person you would not ordinarily hug!

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next Post: Monday, February 17th

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Caring and kindness

  1. Lisa Gross says:

    I love you!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Carol D'Agostino says:

    Very true, Dotty! We all are in need of love and support. We have a great group of women who meet at Dunkin after Mass on Mondays and support each other. We went to funeral Mass this morning for Annie’s husband. Many friends were there in snowstorm.

  3. jen says:

    Love this!!!

Leave a Reply

