Eavesdropping

Eavesdropping

What a relief! When I overhear conversations, I am not eavesdropping because according to Merriam-Webster, to eavesdrop, you hide yourself and listen in on a private conversation. I’m certainly not hiding myself, and if the speakers think this is a private conversation, well…

Having said this, here are some more conversations I’ve overheard in a variety of places, both recently and a few years ago.

While sitting at a Boston cafe : “Tell anyone who asks that I am doing absolutely lousy – let ’em know the reality of it!”

One cashier to another in a NJ supermarket: “They (office) better watch out. I can feel it comin’ and my mind don’t lead me wrong.”

Walking along a street on Boston’s Beacon Hill: A well-dressed Bostonian matron, standing by car: “There’s never any parking on the f—ing Hill.”

On beach in Jamaica: “We’re too far down the tube to put off vacations any longer!”

At lunch in a resort hotel, a couple in their 80’s are ordering lunch. Waitress asks for room number. Wife to husband: “We’ve had so many different rooms numbers, I don’t know where in the Hell we are!”

In restaurant specializing in salads:” I’ll have 2 Asians to go and a Greek to stay .”

Boy, about 13, walks into nail salon with mother. Sees someone getting a pedicure and asks loudly, “How much does it cost to get your feet washed?”

In airport sitting near parents with two girls. Mother and one girl go to bathroom. Father says to other girl, “Let’s go and find Mommy and Ashley.” Looks down. “Oh, you’re Ashley. Let’s go find Mommy and Brittany.”

And the prize goes to something overheard while waiting in examining room at gynecologist’s: Doctor to woman in next examining room: “You have the most normal vagina I’ve seen.” Patient: “I’ll tell my husband that. He thinks…” (Voices dropped; couldn’t hear.)

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next post: Monday, January 27th

 

 

 

 

 

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Eavesdropping

  1. Lisa Gross says:

    So funny! How do you remember it all?

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. twofelines says:

    I jot it down at the time – usually on scrap paper – and drop in file or transfer to computer when I have a chance. this is just what I did for “Kiddle-y-Winks” as well.

  3. Carol D'Agostino says:

    Have pen and paper available at all times.

Leave a Reply

