Lines

Lines

“Make a list of your associations to the word ‘lines,'” read the writing prompt in “The Awe-Manac,” by Jill Badonsky. It was to be a rapid fire listing, and here is mine exactly as it developed.

First thought: in elementary school we formed lines on the playgrounds (two separate playgrounds: one for boys, one for girls) to enter the building in the morning, after recess, for the afternoon session. (We went home for lunch.) In the classroom we formed lines to go out to recess, to leave for lunch, and for dismissal

When I was teaching, we had our students line up for specials, lunch, and dismissal. When it was time to go home, I would line the kids up before the bell and then stand there chatting with them. Out of my twenty-seven years of teaching, one year I had such a challenging class that when I stood there with them I actually prayed (silently) for the strength to go back in the next day!

Waiting in lines: for tickets, for admission to an event, to board a plane

Lines in my face

Having lines in palm read

Lines in a play or poem

Lines of a song recalled from early childhood

Clothes line: I always loved hanging up the wash outside. My mother would caution, “You have to get the clothes off the lines by 4 o’clock because that’s when the dew rolls in off the reservation,” a heavily wooded area nearby.

Lines: learning to park between them- or not

Sign on the dotted line.

Do not write below the line.

Line dancing

He’s giving you a line.

By-line

Party line : one political, the other , shared telephone lines in the 40’s and 50’s and even into the 60’s in rural areas. When I was in fifth grade I got into BIG trouble when I wouldn’t get off the line for a neighbor’s “emergency.” I knew she was just saying that!

Cross the line.

Draw the line.

” I Walk the Line” Johnny Cash

“What’s My Line?” Old TV show

 

(Take a simple word such as paper, table, chair, and try your own list. It’s fun!)

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next Post: Thursday, January 16th

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lines

  1. Lisa Gross says:

    That was awesome!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

