Veterans Day

Veterans Day

They say better late than never. I hope you ascribe to that because although I struggled and struggled to write a Veterans Day post for the actual day, it just never came out right.

Then, later in the day,  I saw this ( on Facebook ) , and these words say it all: Thanksgiving is a day when we pause to give thanks for the things we have. Veterans Day is a day when we pause to give thanks to the people who fought for the things we have.

When I was growing up, it was called Armistice Day, and it always fascinated me that the Armistice was signed at the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month. However, not until I was doing some quick research for the piece I didn’t post did I learn that an armistice is only an agreement to pause the fighting while peace talks take place. Now I understand how the armistice could be signed in 1918 and the war not end until the next year.

I also learned that while on Memorial Day we recognize those service people who died, Veterans Day pays tribute to all service personnel who have ever served and those who serve currently. That was a new distinction for me.

So while I was hung up on trying to avoid the whole political issue of those wars that have been fought since World War One – the war to end all wars, while I thought of saying that it’s a day without gift exchange or traditional foods and family gatherings, I missed the most important point: thank you to every single one who has ever served or who is serving now. Thank you and God bless.

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next Post: Monday, November 18th

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Veterans Day

  1. Lisa Gross says:

    So nice !

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

