Sugar…Sugar…Sugar

Sugar… Sugar…Sugar

When my mother-in-law was in her 80’s, she developed the habit of repeating something she wanted to remember. So, for example, when serving tea to visitors, when someone requested sugar, all the way to the kitchen to get it, she repeated, under her breath, “Sugar… sugar…sugar.”

The first time we heard it, it was pretty comical, but all too soon we realized it was indeed helpful. Want to remember why you went into a room? “ Glasses… glasses… glasses.”

Going out and you want to remember a book? “Book… book… book.”

Try it. It works.

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next Post: Thursday, November 14th

 

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sugar…Sugar…Sugar

  1. Lisa Gross says:

    Thanks, thanks, thanks!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Carol D'Agostino says:

    I will try this! My mother would benefit from this if she could do it. On Sixty minutes last night, a former prisoner in Syria said he kept track of what day it was during his captivity by repeating the date several times during the day.

  3. jen says:

    One of my favorites!!!

Leave a Reply

