Trick or Treat

Trick or Treat

Warning: this post is loaded with calories!

Here’s the TRICK : think of your favorite candy TREAT and try not to eat any.

The first candy I can remember were molasses-peppermint drops at my grandmother’s.

But soon lots of candy was available if I had a penny or two to spend at the neighborhood store: Bbbats, Bulls Eyes , Sugar Daddies, spearmint leaves, Charms red lollipops to dip in water, circus peanuts, orange slices, spearmint leaves, Tootsie rolls and Tootsie Pops, red hots, caramels, and Nonpareils

When I went to church in Boston with my Dad, he bought Necco wafers and Schraft’s chocolate covered peppermint mini-patties to entertain me during services. Other times, in Sullivan Square, changing from subway train to trolley, he would buy a Hershey bar with almonds.

At the movies, the treat would be a frozen Sky Bar. Jr Mints, or Raisinets.

Any time was good for M&M’s, Hershey Kisses, Twizzlers, Chuckles, Life Savers, a Mounds Bar, or Werthers.

For special occasions: Holiday cream mints, especially wintergreen and cotton candy, ribbon candy For Easter there’d be Peeps, Cadbury Cream Egg, and Jelly beans. And how about candy corn for Halloween? Growing up, we called them witches’ teeth and placed them under upper lip so as to hang down like fangs

And, no, I don’t love every single candy. I’ve never liked MaryJanes, Now’n’Laters, Jolly Ranchers, or Gummi Bears, Snickers, KitKats, Butterfingers, or Three Musketeers.

But of them all, I like Milky Ways the best, especially miniature ones. My own kids knew to guard that kind carefully, and each year in school I would ask kids to bring in one for me. At conference time a parent sat down and proffered a miniature Milky Way and said, “Will that make for a better report?”

Having said all this, if someone told me I had to choose: candy or plain old potato chips, I would choose chips. Oh wait could I add Cheez- Its or Fritos or Cheetos. No wonder people call me a junk food junkie!

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next post: Monday, November 4th

 

 

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trick or Treat

  1. Lisa Gross says:

    I don’t like Mary Janes either and I too would choose potato chips!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Ann says:

    We definitely grew up at the same time. Now all I really like are Mrs. Sees dark chocolate assortment, or maple sugar candies from Vermont Country Store. Being diabetic, I TRY to stay away…

Leave a Reply

