Wulf: Part 1

Wulf : Part 1

Wanted: One vicious-looking medium-to-large dog with ferocious bark. Though I never placed an actual ad, that is the dog I wanted after experiencing an armed home invasion. It took a couple of weeks and visits to several animal shelters, but I found the dog I wanted, and it was the bark that won me. She appeared to be a Husky-Shepherd mix, black with white chest and underbelly. Her most distinctive feature was her magnificent black-mixed with white plumed, curved tail which I now know (Thanks to my friend Google) is called a sickle tail because it is shaped like the sickle blade. The shelter worker said the dog, about three years old, had been found abandoned shortly after giving birth. He said she had been abused and might not be that friendly, but somehow I knew she was the right dog. Oddly, for a dog of her manner, she bore the name Princess which I immediately changed to Wulf. (sic)

Needing no convincing when I led her out of the shelter, she jumped in the back of my Pacer and sat up almost haughtily on the short drive home. I opened the house door, and she ran in, defecating in the family room, urinating in the master bedroom, and running under a low coffee table, jostling the Hummel Nativity set on it and thus beheading one of the wise men. And that was all in the first five minutes!

Later, when I took her to the vet to be checked out, he told me it was foolish to get a grown dog because they wouldn’t protect property until they felt it was theirs. He also cautioned me to be wary of Wulf, given her history. He misjudged her. From the first minute, she barked wildly if anyone came near the house, and she followed me from room to room, waiting patiently outside the bathroom door. She slept by my bed at night, and each day when I came home from work she greeted me at the door. Sometimes she forgot she was such a big dog and would try to sit on my lap.

But it was not the smoothest of transitions. For one thing, I had two cats who ran under the bed and were barely seen for two weeks. And Wulf had some really bad habits. During those first weeks she bit through a metal Sucrets box, chomped down in several places on a new, small leather jewelry case, demolished a straw beach sandal, and destroyed a hard-cover bestseller borrowed from a friend. Gradually she calmed down, the cats reappeared and learned to co-exist with her, sometimes all sleeping together. (to be continued next Monday)

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next post: Monday, October 28th

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wulf: Part 1

  1. Diane Chandler says:

    Can’t wait for part 2!

  2. Ann says:

    I can’t wait for the rest! (Disclaimer: I am a cat person.) 🙂

    • twofelines says:

      Ann, I too am a cat lover. Don’t think I ever met a cat I didn’t like, and I’ve loved more than a few. On the other hand, I am particular about dogs. Many I don’t like. Loved my Wulf and my my son Stephen’s two dogs: Sam and Murphy.

Leave a Reply

