Words

Words

Some people collect campaign buttons or postcards or even shoes. I collect words.

I collect SINGLE WORDS on scraps of paper that seem to be all over the house.

Crepuscular

Caliginous

Proprioception

When I get a chance, I look the word up, and sometimes the meaning stays with me, and sometimes it doesn’t.

I collect SENTENCES that amuse, inspire, or reassure. These usually make it into a special notebook.

The doctor said I was suffering from an inadequate adjustment to aging. ( Joan Didion in “Blue Nights)

“No one becomes old until regret takes the place of dreams.” (John Barrymore)

If you can’t be content with what you have received, be thankful for what you have escaped.

A good cry is like a carwash for the soul. (Bill Hayes; NY Times)

“We done fell out the trouble tree and hit every branch on the way down.” (Sharon Draper in “Copper Sun”)

You can’t look at a sleeping cat and be tense. (Jane Pauley)

Don’t shoot the bear until you see it!

Be courageous. It’s one of the only places left uncrowded.

Life is a wondrous gray.

 

I collect PASSAGES, and they land in the notebook, too, although if they are very lengthy, they make it to the file cabinet.

“The key to your happiness is to own your slippers, own who you are, own how you look, own your family, own the talents you have, and own the ones you don’t. If you keep saying your slippers aren’t yours, then you’ll die searching, you’ll die bitter, always feeling you were promised more. Not only our actions, but also our omissions, become out destiny. Abraham Verghese: “Cutting for Stone.”

 

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next Post: Monday, October 21st

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Words

  1. Lisa Gross says:

    Thanks for the wonderful words of wisdom!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Carol D'Agostino says:

    Antimacassar: a protective covering for the backs of chairs and sofas.
    Jim contributed this word to add to your collection if you do not already have it.

Leave a Reply

