Overheard Locally

Overheard Locally

At Storrs Pond:

A grandmother and child, of about 5, were sitting at the picnic table. The grandmother asked what appeared to be a personal question. Child: “ I’m sorry; I can’t answer that question today. Ask Google.” Grandmother repeats question. Child: “ I’m sorry; I can’t answer that question today. Call Siri.”

Later, same child making pretend cake of sand. “Mom, can I give Adam (the younger brother) a gluten-free cake with just a bit of whole wheat in it?” Mom: “No.” Child: “OK, I’ll make a cake that’s all gluten-free.”

 

On the Dartmouth Green: “She’s the queen of the innocent quip.”

 

At Weathervane, a local restaurant: “Why don’t they have baseball players wear Speedos so women will watch the game?”

 

Another restaurant: “My father always said we do our best swimming when the water’s up to our neck.”

 

One man to another in supermarket: “When you get out of your territory, it’s always better to keep your mouth shut.”

 

In movie theater Ladies’ Room: one little girl, maybe 8, to another: “I wish my Mom was here, but, no, my parents had to get separated!”

 

On morning walk: “I don’t care if she hooks up with him. I just don’t think she should date him.”

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next Post: Monday, October 13th

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment