Overheard in Boston

Overheard (by me) in Boston

In line at the Boston Public Library, two women are talking about Chautauqua and whether one should go there. Woman # 1:”“I asked my friend if you would be busy all the time and she told me she liked time to read and reflect.” Woman #2: You know me. I NEVER reflect.”

In Spasso’s, a restaurant: a table of 20-something career women are talking animatedly. Said one, “I was planning to join the gym, but after spending all that money on clothes, it’s going to be another month of running in place in the shower.”

On Green Line T: 20-something woman #1: “Barbara’s away this week, and I’m taking care of her cats. (Makes face) They have these neurotic food-obsessed urges. I don’t like that. (Waves hand) “Go away.” 20-something woman #2: “She told me she has some eating problems. Maybe in some way she passes this on.”

Waitress in Boylston Street restaurant, trying desperately to balance a tray with drinks, the Perfect Rob Roy splashing out of glass: “I can’t do this job. Ten years of ballet didn’t help.”

On Green Line T: She messy ’bout her cookin’. She doin’ it the white way; I have to show her the Black way. She spreadin’ her meat all out, puttin’ the flour on it and then the seasonin’s. I tell her – wash the meat in the strainer, season it, then put the flour on. Cook one piece at a time. Don’t be puttin’ yo meat all out. Us folk raised down south, we be watchin’ for them flies. You have that meat out the flies be landin’ on it.

Alley behind Marlborough St: One homeless can collector to the other: “I’m taking today off.”

©Dorothy C. Judd

Next Post: Monday, October 7th

 

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Overheard in Boston

  1. Ann says:

    Perfect! Gave me big smiles as I begin my day!

Leave a Reply

