Books, Books, and More Books

Books, Books, and More Books

Soon I’m going to stop making note of the books I’d like to read. Maybe after I’ve filled the current notebook which is already bulging. I mean there’s no way I will ever read all of these books, even if I do nothing but read for the rest of my life. How in the world did the list get so long?

Well, friends recommend books, I scan best seller lists and read book reviews in newspapers and magazines, including reviews by a former student as they appear in national publications. If I really like an author, I’ll go back and read all previous titles and keep an eye out for new ones. Amazon gets into the act by emailing when an author I’ve purchased is coming out with a new book, and annoyingly, titles of books similar to ones I’ve bought. Then there are books that catch my interest when subbing, books that authors mention in their writing, etc.  Well now you know how the list got so long.

Often it’s a book title that attracts me or an author familiar to me, but I read something about the content before I put it on the list. It merits a star if I really, really want to read it. I enjoy a variety of genres, but I prefer realistic fiction, young adult fiction, memoirs, and some mystery series, but not fantasy or sci-fi.

Luckily Hanover has a terrific library, and what they don’t have, they will get on inter-library loan if possible. But every once in a while there will be a starred title I can’t locate, and then I’ll buy it used, from Amazon. I don’t have the patience to browse at book sales: in fact the huge 5-College Book Sale each spring so overwhelms me I don’t go.

At the high school there was an 80-something library assistant. One day as I was checking out a book, I noticed a large volume on the counter, and it was entitled, “1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die.” I said, “I guess I should have started sooner.” To this the assistant responded, “My son says you’ll be able to read in heaven, and if you can’t, I’m not going there.”

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next post: Thursday, Sept. 12th

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Books, Books, and More Books

  1. Ann says:

    Marvelous. Oh, am I going to remember that quote. heaven will have to let m read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

