Looking Back

Looking Back

This is my 100th post! Blogging has been both motivating and satisfying. I discovered what it means to “Find your voice.” Mine is casual and chatty, and most of the time it just pours out of me. Being my own blog, there has been no imposed word limit, no strict format, no specific subject. Of course there are the deeply personal posts, but less personal ones are of things that have caught my fancy, as lists of weird headlines, obits, words., lists I’ve been collecting over time. Very often Google has been my best friend when I’ve wanted to be sure of a word or have wanted to verify a fact.

For some posts, I have dug deep into my memory and discovered things I didn’t even know were there. Some memories have brought out deep feelings, and some have brought me to new understandings. For example, when I wrote about my parents not wanting me to go to college, I flashed on something in a book I had read that week. Kline in her book “The Orphan Train” talked about college giving you a bigger life. And maybe that is exactly what my parents feared: that I would have a life that took me out of the world that was familiar to them. And it did.

I have accustomed myself to composing directly on the computer or my iPad. Previously, when writing, I wrote out everything in longhand because I was reluctant to cut or because I was afraid I would like the first draft better or else lose some word or thread.

Prior to starting my own blog, I had been reading blogs by favorite authors, and when I heard a young author who is local, I thought, “ Hey, I could do that.” And I did.

When I told my son Stephen what I was planning on doing, he gave me an extremely important piece of advice: “Write for yourself. Write what is meaningful to you. Don’t be concerned about comments. You just can’t predict what posts will elicit reactions. So write for yourself.” And I did, and he was right.

But although I write for myself, I hope that you, the faithful, will continue with me through the next months on this adventure called blogging, and I always appreciate it when you let me know you’re there!

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next post: Thursday, Sept. 5th

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Looking Back

  1. Lisa Gross says:

    I am here and always appreciate the thoughts you share!

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Ann says:

    I wouldn’t miss your insights, memories, and way of looking at life. Congratulations on your 100th. Quite an achievement.

  3. sally tallmadge says:

    dee, you are the bomb! 100 posts. please keep those thoughts coming and coming as i look forward to each and every one.

  4. Great job! So glad you’re sharing! 🙂

  5. Carol D'Agostino says:

    I like Stephen’s advice to write for yourself. Printed and put into a book they hopefully will be saved and handed down to grandchildren and great grandchildren. I am here reading and enjoying!

Leave a Reply

