Boots & Freckles

Boots & Freckles

Time for another dog story as promised.

Mrs. Miniver (My first dog) went to the Animal Rescue League and hopefully found a home where she couldn’t knock down any little kids.

When I was in sixth grade, my Uncle Sam, after checking with my parents, gave me a cute brown and black puppy – maybe a beagle- whom I named Boots. The first week he slept in my doll crib, a hot water bottle near him. Then, I’m not sure who was trying to paper train him: Me at 11 years old? Dot? My father? All of us? At any rate, we were having no success. Boots just pooped and pooped everywhere. Later it was discovered that my mother, who obviously was not behind this dog ownership, was surreptitiously putting wheat germ in his food. Poor Boots didn’t stand a chance, and Sam was forced to return him whence he came.

It was twenty-four years before the next dog arrived. One day an adorable collie mix followed my boys home from the local candy store. Tan and white, she had tan spots on her muzzle, so they appropriately named her Freckles. The most unique thing about this dog was that she could chew gum and blow bubbles. I have no idea how we discovered that!

She was a sweet dog, and we were very happy with her until she developed a serious cough. The vet diagnosed her with laryngotracheitis and said she would require meds every couple of hours around the clock. Since I had a full-time job, when the vet suggested she be put down, I sadly agreed to send her to doggy heaven.

An interesting sequel to this is that just a few weeks later, my son, Stephen, who was ten, had a bad cough. He was sitting on the examining table when the pediatrician said, “Well, Mom, this young man has laryngotracheitis.” I noticed a look of panic come over Stephen’s face, so I hastened to assure him I would not be sending him away anywhere!”

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next Post: Monday, September 2nd

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Boots & Freckles

  1. Ann says:

    OMG! This is sad and hilarious at the same time. I can see why we are both cat lovers too.

Leave a Reply

