Fourth of July

Fourth of July

My favorite Fourth of July account is one told by my father about the 4th of July in 1900. Evidently Independence Day was a time of great excitement in Millville in Southern New Jersey, where he grew up. No one wanted to miss a minute of it, so before bed the kids would tie a very long string around their big toe and hang the string out their bedroom window. The first kid in the neighborhood to wake up would race around pulling on each of the strings, and soon all the kids would be up and outside.

I, personally, have always adored fireworks whether over the Charles River, Boston Harbor, New York Harbor, Lake Winnipesaukee, Lake Quannapowitt in Wakefield, the Connecticut River in Bellows Falls, or the Green in Hanover. I not only love the colors and shapes in the sky, but I also get a thrill from the boom of the fireworks and the appreciative oohs and ahs of the crowd.

Sometime ago I read that a company in California would, for a price, mix your cremains with fireworks and set them off into the sky. I loved the idea of a personal fireworks display with my grandchildren exclaiming, “ Wow! Look! There goes Gramma!”

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next Post: Monday, July 8th

Note : There will be no Post on Thursday the 4th.

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fourth of July

  1. sally tallmadge says:

    yes, dee, this is perfect.. may the fun you helped create in life continue on in death. i don’t know how the rest of your family feels, but i will help facilitate (and you know i will!).

Leave a Reply

